Stone Chameleon by Jocelyn Adams

Genre Urban Fantasy Published 24 May 2013 Publisher MuseItUp Publishing Series Ironhill Jinn book one

Stone ChameleonWhen a series of unusual murders point to Lou Hudson, Ironhill’s equal rights advocate, as the primary suspect, she has but one choice: find the real perpetrator before her trial begins or face execution.

Lou, the last of the jinn, survives by hiding her abilities after the rest of the elementals fell victim to genocide. As a preternatural pest exterminator and self-proclaimed guardian of the innocent, she’s accustomed to trudging through the dregs of society. Hunting down a pesky murderer should be easy, especially with help from the dashing and mischievous local media darling.

For Lou, though, nothing is ever simple. When she discovers the killer’s identity, to reveal it would unearth her secret and go against her strict moral code, resulting in a deadly catch twenty-two.

The Urban Book Thief Review

urban book thief I am not one to use unnecessary profanity. But fuck me, that novel was fucking awesome. Lou Hudson brings a whole new level to the words ‘kick-ass urban fantasy heroine’. She is strong, she is likable, she is different enough from her contemporaries (Merit, Kate Daniels, Elena Deveraux) to be considered unique – plus she has some cracking side-kicks who make the Scooby gang look like amateurs on a day out at the fair.

This book rocked my world so much I was late for a romantic meal to celebrate my first wedding anniversary. Ooopsie! So if you like urban fantasy series – I urge you to try this one on for size.

It.is.fab-u-lous.

Are you getting the picture? (I really enjoyed it – heaps and heaps).

I love you Isaac

Crap. Did I just shout that? Sorry, it just fell out of my mouth. I didn’t mean to say it so loud… he’s just… sigh… a controlling idiot vamp. A controlling, idiotic vamp in a kilt (I’m currently on my knees singing the hallelujah chorus). Thank you Ms. Adams, are you sure you haven’t been peeking into my daydreams? I have all fingers and toes crossed that this character becomes a permanent feature in this series.

darling

Lou Hudson is your friendly local exterminator, but instead of debugging your house or chasing away the odd venomous spider, (which is how I spent last Sunday…) she’ll make that pesky vamp hiding out in your basement move on.

Lou

Lou ‘the exterminator’ Hudson

In this world, paranormal creatures are well… normal. There’s no para about it. Vampires feature very heavily, (we’ll touch on that a bit more later, sigh!) as well as elves and other supes. Lou is different though, she’s the only jinn left on the planet. She cannot tell anyone what she is, so needless to say, life is a little lonely for her. To talk, mention or breathe about who she is would mean sayonara bitches – instant death. As a race, the jinn always struggled with their unstable powers, posing a danger to the populace, and when Lou was a baby they were wiped off the face of the earth. Sadly, her father was one of those caught up in the slaughter.

Now, I find that being a jinn means different things in different books. Up until now I always thought of a jinn as a genie type character. Granting wishes and popping in and out of scenes in a diaphanous gown. This isn’t the case in the Ironhill series. Jinn’s are divided into factions by their own unique elemental ability. Lou has an affinity with the earth, stone in particular. This means she is a stubborn hard-ass who likes to get down and dirty in her attempts to keep the streets safe at night.

Amun

Amun

Say hello to Persian hottie Amun (waves excitedly). The poor thing has had a hard on for Lou for a few years now. After briefly meeting her at a function in the city the business man has been doggedly pursuing her, trying to organise a dastardly date – damn the man! Lou’s not so keen though and has been in a permanent meeting with aliens on top of Mount Everest for the last couple of years. There’s only room for one man in her life and that is Benny her pet guinea pig. Pity. He’s too slick for her, too handsome – too much. But faint heart never won fair maiden and Amun manages to catch her attention in a big way. He knows she’s a jinn and rocks her world by telling her so. The funny thing is he knows too much about her, her family, her power. How?

In-between her job and trying to avoid Amun, Lou has to meet up with city cop Gerry as well as the lord of the Ironhill vampire hive, Isaac MacIWanderIfHeHasUnderwearOnUnderThatKilt? Things are a bit testy between them all and their working relationship is somewhat rocky.

Isaac

Isaac

Not to mention, this vamp has some pretty bad trust issues, even though Lou has proven her worth in the past time and time again.

Isaac is not a good person. He does some pretty shitty things to Lou during the course of the story. Interestingly, I can see from other people’s reviews of this book that he hasn’t been held in very high regard. I don’t care. I’m going to be stubbornly persistent and say that this guy has hidden depths. Hopefully they’re not too deep though. Just saying.

The only thing I see as a potential downer to this series is that it seems to be edging into, ‘oh no there’s two really hot guys into me and I’ll mess them around badly until I pick the one I want territory’. Or maybe I’m just reading too much into this and Isaac does turn out to be a complete arsehole.

I would love to find out when the next book is coming out, but unfortunately my mystic spies cannot find anything. I can’t wait though. Can’t. Wait.

fiveThe Urban Book Thief has awarded Stone Chameleon a kiss factor rating of five – more, more, more!

goodreads

MuseItUp Bookstore | Amazon.com | Barnes & Noble

About the Author

Jocelyn Adams grew up on a cattle farm in Lakefield and has remained a resident of Southern Ontario her entire life, most recently in Muskoka. She has worked as a computer geek, a stable hand, a secretary, and spent most of her childhood buried up to the waist in an old car or tractor engine with her mechanically inclined dad. But mostly, she’s a dreamer with a vivid imagination and a love for dark fantasy (and a closet romantic — shhh!). When she isn’t shooting her compound bow in competition or writing, she hangs out with her husband and young daughter at their little house in the woods.

Website  |  BlogFacebook  |  Twitter  |  Goodreads

Excerpt

A flare shot over the rooftops to our left. I dove at Blake and slammed him to the pavement as another column of fire streaked toward us. The flames seared my back. The dragon bat was not a happy camper. Someone landed on my backside, crushing a grunt out of me and pounding my shoulder blade while Blake gasped beneath me.

“Bloody hell, Amun,” I said, before I realized he did it to put out the flames eating up my shirt. “Oh, I see. Thanks.”

He pulled me up, and the three of us ducked behind a car in the parking lot beside the Whip and Tickle, a vampire fetish-wear shop. The owl-sized bat swooped over us again, blasting an inferno that exploded the front window of the shop, sending studded leather and melted mannequins onto the sidewalk.

Three of the other creatures we’d hunted lay dead on other streets, the scorpion included, all by my sword when I’d been left with two options: kill or die. Twelve more were contained in three trucks. The bat remained the only unwelcome visitor in Fangtown. Other than us, of course.

“This is madness, Lou.” Amun panted beside me, his arms rising to shield his head as the bat exhaled on a Mini Cooper two cars over, the crackling and popping suggesting we should find a new hiding place.

“I agree with Mr. Bassili,” Blake said, his drawl worsening with his fright. “What the hell in a hand grenade do we do now?”

Rudy poked his almost translucent head out from behind the newspaper boxes he dove behind during the first fiery blast. The poor guy shook so badly I’d have been surprised if he could see anything. I gestured to him to stay put. “We’ve scared it, not something you want to do to a dragon bat.” A deep exhalation centered me enough to think. “I seem to recall the pecking order in a colony of bats. If we want protection from the dominants, we must present an offering of food.”

“And that helps us how?” Amun, his face blackened with soot and smeared with dirt, tilted to rest against the tire of the car, appearing as frazzled as I’d ever seen him. The sight induced a belly laugh that wouldn’t be contained.

He took on a strange expression of one eyebrow cocked and a half-grin, as if he wasn’t sure whether to be amused or offended. “What?”

I waved him off. “Nothing, I think I’m just losing my marbles.” Rising up enough to see around the car to Rudy, I shouted, “Rudy, do you have any rodents in your truck? Rats or mice?”

“No,” he hollered back, “but I can call some for you.”

I nodded. “As fast as you can.”

Flapping came from our rears. Crackling. A blast tossed the front of a car up until it crashed down on its hood, crushing a Mazda behind it.

“Move!” I shoved at Amun and tugged Blake toward the back of the fetish shop, since it was much closer than the front where flames still poured out of the broken window. Amun kicked out with a startling force against the wooden door. It took three tries, but it finally gave. My, but he was strong. We rushed inside and crouched behind a cement wall beside a set of stairs leading down.

“What do you want the rats for?” Amun asked with obvious suspicion. “Tell me you don’t want one of us to go out there and dangle something for that thing to come and snatch, probably toasting us to a golden brown in the process? Because I think I’ve grown a healthy dose of sympathy for marshmallows right about now.”

“Don’t worry, Amun. I’m going, not you. We just need to listen for Rudy to come back, if he hasn’t chickened out and run for the hills. Hopefully rats like to hang out here and aren’t snapped up for evening snacks.” There was a reason the umikan stuck to small, normal pests, other than his ability to talk to them. Although he’d deal with the scarier stuff when the need called for it, he usually didn’t have enough courage to fill a thimble.

“What?” Amun palmed his forehead. “You can’t be serious.” He gestured toward the door. “Have you been oblivious to the destruction that thing caused just in the last ten minutes? It’s pissed, and I don’t think it’s going to care about some little morsel you offer it.” His frown tugged at his features. “Why are you smiling like that?”

I shrugged, hopped up on adrenaline and enjoying the sight of the great Amun Bassili squirming. “This is what I do for a living.”

“You’re enjoying this?” Both of his eyebrows jacked up.

“Yup,” Blake said, rolling his eyes and chuckling from deep in his belly. “Weirdest broad I ever knew. Takes a bit of starch outta the ole manhood, don’t it?”

I wiped the char from my hands onto my jeans. “To do a job one takes no pride in is a travesty, in my opinion.”

At Rudy’s shout from beyond the wall, I said, “Stay here. Don’t come out until I call or you could send the bat into fits again.”

Leave a Reply

