MacRieve by Kresley Cole

MacrieveA Beast In Torment – Uilleam MacRieve believed he’d laid to rest the ghosts of his boyhood. But when a brutal torture revives those ancient agonies and destroys his Lykae instinct, the proud Scot craves the oblivion of death. Until he finds her—a young human so full of spirit and courage that she pulls him back from the brink.

A Beauty In Chains – Seized for the auction block, Chloe Todd is forced to enter a terrifying new world of monsters and lore as a bound slave. When offered up to creatures of the dark, she fears she won’t last the night. Until she’s claimed by him—a tormented immortal with heartbreaking eyes, whose touch sets her blood on fire.

A Full Moon On The Rise – With enemies circling, MacRieve spirits Chloe away to the isolated Highland keep of his youth. But once he takes her to his bed, his sensual mate becomes something more than human, evoking his savage past and testing his sanity. On the cusp of the full moon, can he conquer his worst nightmare to save Chloe . . . from himself?

The Urban Book Thief Review

urban book thief

Oh MacRieve! You with your sexy Scottish accent and racy double entendres. I have waited patiently for your wonderful name to appear on my Kindle screen for months, and on Tuesday you arrived – hurrah! I must also admit, my dear MacRieve, that my life ground to a complete halt this week cause I was reading so darned fast, steam’s been coming out of my ears like a Looney Tunes character.

Real life be damned you say, slamming an empty whiskey bottle on the table. 

Steady on now boy.

And what a flippin’ ride it was! I am standing on my desk, slowly clapping my hands as I wryly shake my head from side to side. Oops you did it again Kresley Cole. Thirteen books later and this series still hasn’t grown stale like so many other paranormal romance series.

MacRieve

MacRieve

This book is all about our 900 year-old Will, one of the famous hot and hotter twins. Bare bones and all. I have to say that I was a little shocked at first about his back story, it’s not a subject that I have read too much about, particularly in this genre, and I for one think that Ms. Cole is rather brave for writing about it. I’m talking about male rape. This story is a tale of MacRieve’s hate, guilt and redemption.

I’m also shocked that MacRieve hasn’t received all that many sterling reviews. Honestly, I don’t friggin care. I loved it. Loved it.

Uilleam is a rather angry Lycan. I really couldn’t blame him. I’d have issues too if that crazy scientist Dixon cut my still beating heart out of my chest and held it in front of my face. Someone grab me a whiskey bottle pronto. Things are looking so shite for him that he bought a one way ticket to a Lore creature killing fire pit. It’s okay though, cause he’s hot and Ms. Cole never kills the hot ones. Even Webb made it and he’s definitely only a little bit hot compared to you.

You may wonder, as did I, why Will managed to fangle his way into getting his book named after his own clan. Particularly when his King did not. To be honest, I’m still not sure. But it is a long running joke throughout the book that no one can pronounce his name correctly so everyone just calls him ‘MacRieve’.

Chloe

Chloe

Chloe is a little different from the majority of our IAD heroines. She’s human for a start (but not for long – wink, wink, nudge nudge). It doesn’t help that her father is Commander Webb, the evil dude who orchestrated the whole island prison affaire. And now that her dear daddy is on the lam she’s a pretty prize to be won for many angry Lorians.

Unfortunately, Chloe has no idea about any of this. She’s a professional soccer player (or football depending on where you hail from) who is hell bent on competing in the next Olympics. She’s small but tough with a killer pair of pins and won’t take any bullshit from no one. Even an angry Lykae who hates her father. But before she can figure out what is going on and where her missing father is, she is kidnapped by witches and put up for auction to the highest bidder.

Thousands attend. Everyone wants a piece of Chloe. So it’s a good thing MacRieve’s mating instinct kicks in and he spirits her away before things get too ugly.

Their relationship suffers a lot of ups and downs. There’s drama aplenty as they figure out how they’ll fit into each other’s world and whether Chloe will survive one of the Lore’s biggest witch hunts ever.

The banter is good. Just saying.

In a casual tone, he observed, “Your eyes are bright, your skin glowing. Sex with me becomes you.”

Her wee bare feet stutter-stepped, but she righted herself. “You don’t look too shabby yourself. For a crypt keeper. Been meaning to ask you, how’d you keep warm before the fire?”

So that’s how she’d play this? “If you get hungry, just let me know.” His gaze landed on her bouncing breasts. “We can stop for a bite.”

“I don’t do fast food. Not really into wolfing down my meals.”

Ach, he liked her sass. “Nay, this meal will have many courses, a bounty overflowing. You can feast until you’re… gorged.”

No one does sexy mocking sarcasm like this author…

I must admit. I’m glad that this is the last ‘tortured and vivisected by the Order’ book. Any more on this storyline and it would have driven me crazy. So let’s jump forward to the big-ass war we’re getting close to already! Rubs hands together with relish.

But most importantly – who is Nix’s HEA?!? Word on the grapevine it’s naughty old Commander Webb. Intriguing prospect…

The next book in the series will be Will’s twin brother Munro. Can’t wait!

fiveThe Urban Book Thief has awarded MacRieve a kiss factor rating of five – hold onto your panties ladies and gents.

Genre Paranormal Romance Published 2 July 2013  Publisher Gallery Books Series Immortals After Dark book thirteen.

goodreads

8 thoughts on “MacRieve by Kresley Cole

  1. I LOVED this novel! MacRieve reminded me a little of both Lachlan and Lothaire – both of whom I love – so it was hard not to fall in love with him. Of course, that isn’t to say that there weren’t parts in the novel where I wanted to smack him silly, but almost immediately afterward I wanted to give him a hug.

    I figured out Chloe’s immortal alter-ego after reading the excerpt Kresley Cole released…I was just waiting to see when MacRieve would find out and how he’d react. (I knew he was going to blow his top, but wow!)

    Nix and Commander Web? That is both intriguing and scary!

    I can’t believe I have to wait so long for another IAD novel. 😦

    I’m going to go back an re-read Lachlan’s novel to tide me over – and hopefully, I’ll get into her YA series soon. I keep trying to read “Poison Princess” but first person narrative is hard for me to get into if the character doesn’t intrigue me from the start, and Evie’s narrative is slow to start.

    P.S: I’m looking for novels with ALPHA males, if you’ve got recommendations list away!

    • I’m sooooo glad someone loves this book as much as me. You figured out Chloe’s alter-ego! No fair! I guess it was kinda captain obvious, but I really wanted another harpy to join the crew. Darn it. Fingers crossed for the next book 😉

      I am totally up for Nix and Webb. It would make for such an epically explosive ending.

      I haven’t actually read the poison princess. I really want to, but I’m kinda over YA books at the moment. If I’m lost for something new I might dip in and try it out. But… meh.

      Alpha males. Off the top of my head… Monica McCarty Highland Guard series, Lila Gray series, Bast’s Dark Magick series, the Tairon Soul series (fantasy heavy), Maya Banks, Lisa Kleypas writes a good Alpha, Kristen Ashley for sure and hundreds more…

      • Thanks for all the recommendations!

        I really want to read Nix’s story, but I hope she doesn’t write it too soon – at least not if it means that the IAD series has ended. 😦

  2. I love Kresley’s books too and cannot wait for this one! I’ve noticed that some of the plots have got a little darker as this series has progressed, but I don’t mind this at all as there is always lots of humour alongside the outrageous and sexy scenes. 🙂

      • I agree – I love the humour in this series. I get some very strange looks sometimes when I am chuckling to myself when reading in public. Things are good at home as we are having a heatwave and we are making the most of it while it lasts. Hope all goes well with you and yours. 🙂

Leave a Reply

