Mist by Susan Krinard

Genre Urban Fantasy Published 16 July 2013  Publisher Tor Books Series Mist book one

Mist

Centuries ago, all was lost in the Last Battle when the Norse gods and goddesses went to war. The elves, the giants, and the gods and goddesses themselves were all destroyed, leaving the Valkyrie Mist one of the only survivors. Or so she thought.When a snowy winter descends upon modern-day San Francisco in June, Mist’s quiet existence starts to feel all too familiar. In quick succession, Mist is attacked by a frost giant in a public park and runs into an elf disguised as a homeless person on the streets…and then the man Mist believed was her mortal boyfriend reveals himself to be the trickster god, Loki, alive and well after all these years.

Loki has big plans for the modern world, and he’s been hanging around Mist for access to a staff that once belonged to the great god Odin. Mist is certain of one thing: Loki must be stopped if there is to be any hope for Earth. But the fight is even bigger than she knows… Because Loki wasn’t the only god to survive.

The Urban Book Thief Review

urban book thiefThis book has left me in a quandry. I don’t know whether it was A, the massively huge injection of Norse mythology or B, the constant and continuous action that left me in a rather confused tail-spin.

Let me ‘splain. I love mythologies and learning about different pantheons, so much so that I studied ancient history for a spell at university. Unfortunately, my knowledge of Norse mythology is only what I gleamed from Thor – well, when I wasn’t panting over Chris Hemsworth’s incredibly cute Aussie arse that is.

thor2

sigh…

But I just couldn’t seem to wrap my head around all of the different characters. As a newbie to this world, I needed a better explanation about Mist’s history and what the hell had happened in the first place to kick everything off. I understand the softly, softly approach to introducing new information. Particularly for a UF book. But I found the author’s method of doing this very confusing. I just couldn’t seem to picture the characters in my head either – for half of the book, I thought that the frost giants were kinda… frosty looking. It turns out they actually look more like lumberjacks. duh.

Now, onto point B – the action was so dizzyingly constant that it made me feel super tired for everyone involved. Mist and Dainn seemed to run from point A to point B without pausing for breath. Not even time to stop for a Kit-Kat or a cup of tea. I know right? What happened to a good bit of drama round the kitchen sink? It was ex-haust-ing. I guess maybe they were so hyped up on super awesome Norse juice they never needed to sleep. But still, a stop for a chat (or an ogle, I’m not fussy) wouldn’t have gone a miss surely?

This is not to say that Mist is not a well written book – because it is. This book is a fast-paced novel with a fantastic storyline and a lot of heart. If you know your Norse mythology and love a bit of sword play, you should definitely check this out. The romance is light, but remember – this is first and foremost an Urban Fantasy. Yes, Ladies and Gents, it’s time to get your sword out (no, your other sword) and stick it to the big nasty. Shiny leather bottoms are in, as well as wise-cracks and sarcasm as a form of foreplay.

But back to the show: Mist is a Valkyrie with one foot stuck in the past and other facing out towards the future. She’s an immortal, but is tired to death (ha!) of life. Separated from her sisters and the rest of her breathern, she lives in domestic bliss in San Fran with her human lover and two cats. Awww! Mist has been tasked to look after and protect Gungnir, a sword with magical properties and one of the many Norse treasures. But after it’s stolen, she busts out the big guns and goes after her man ahem sword.

Mist’s side-kick is the rather scrumptious Dainn, an elf with a dark past and a secret he can’t share with her – or it could mean the end of their ‘relationship’. I like Dainn. In fact I like any elf with a baddass side and is written to look and act nothing like Legolas – Orlando Bloom almost killed my love for elves… long live the baddass elf!

But for me, I sadly spent more time being confused and hoping that Mist and Dainn should just get it on already.

And because I love this movie (and Chris), I leave you with a parting gift. The gift of gif. Yay!

thor

2The Urban Book Thief has awarded Mist a kiss factor rating of two – Not for me I’m afraid.

goodreads

8 thoughts on “Mist by Susan Krinard

  1. Oooh I love the Norse mythology. In fact I’ve written a whole book based on it which I’ve been working on for about 5 years and counting (it’s still terrible) so I love the sound of this. And any post with Phwoar Thor in works for me 😉

    • I agree! And five years – you must be very dedicated to be working on it for this long. I’m sure it’s fab and that’s just a writer’s modesty 😉 In fact, Thor is definitely a good way to procrastinate, ’cause it’s research…

      • haha research, of course. Well, it’s been a VERY sporadic 5 years. I finished a first draft about 3 years ago and I’ve been editing it since. I really hate editing though! It will never end. lol. One day I’ll find the time to do a proper edit and actually do something with it…one day.

  2. Pingback: McfaddenMcfadden | Norse

Leave a Reply

